Manfred Ehlert’s AMEN 

"The Rick Laine Session ‘88"

Digital Release (EP)

1.         Dead Or Alive

2.         No No

3.         Never Say Never

4.         Love And War

5.         New World Generation

  • Spotify Social Icon
  • iTunes Social Icon
  • Amazon Social Icon
  • Deezer Social Icon

Early 80s. Retreat into the depths of lonely rehearsal rooms and intellectual, and over time also digital, worlds. Drum computers, tape machines, synthesizers, guitars, voices. From bass player and band musician to the Mann project. Trying for years, creating, putting nights around your ears, making debts, working on the realization of your own dreams, getting better.

After various band projects and the unsatisfactory experience as a solo artist under the pseudonym «Tomes Beluga» back on field one. Alone again. In order not to have to be in the foreground, the idea for a pure studio project was born in the late 1980s with the concept of presenting touching voices from PopRock music in something other than their usual musical environment and integrating it into his music, initially without it their attribution, as these trigger expectations and could therefore mean a musical restriction. This self-composed and produced music was of a purely synthetic nature and initially did without guitars. There were hardly any considerations about marketing and saleability, naively the focus was on music and the joy of working with great musicians.

The first of these voices belongs to the Englishman Rick Laine, whose voice reminded Manfred of the first singer of one of his favorite bands, “Deep Purple”: Rod Evans. This laid the basis for his long-term project “Manfred Ehlert's Amen”.

Vocals: Rick Laine

All instruments & programming: Manfred Ehlert

All texts written by Rick Laine

Recorded by Heinz Reutlinger, Al Dente Studio

Mastering: Gary Jones

Layout cover: Peter Frey

 

Personal note:

From this studio session, which I recorded in 1988 together with Heinz Reutlinger in his studios, which was then in an old building barrack, these 5 songs were created, which are now being published for the first time. It was recorded on a B-16 Fostex machine, the first affordable tape machine that professionals had not taken seriously for a long time. Back then I had an Atari 1040 computer with a floppy drive, a Roland D-50 synthesizer, an E-Max for the wind instruments and a Sequential Circuits Studio 440 (sampler / drum machine).

The singer Rick Laine, who did a really great job on the 5 songs, only confessed to me at the end of the recording sessions that he had stomach problems at the time. His claim to perfectly implement my clear ideas about singing and the knowledge that the booked studio time had to be paid for made this possible. My great respect for this achievement and its discipline! He also worked on the lyrics for various songs of this project.

In order to pay the studio bill at the time, I had to sell my car at the time. Therefore this cover as a reminder of the 80s. I had to sell the Audi 100 car model shown for a new bass guitar many years earlier.

  • Schwarz Spotify Icon
  • Schwarz Facebook Icon
  • Schwarz YouTube Icon

© 2020 Manfred Ehlert

  • Grey Spotify Icon
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon

Manfred Ehlert’s AMEN 

"The Rick Laine Session ‘88" - Digitale Veröffentlichung (EP)

1.         Dead Or Alive

2.         No No

3.         Never Say Never

4.         Love And War

5.         New World Generation

  • Spotify Social Icon
  • iTunes Social Icon
  • Amazon Social Icon
  • Deezer Social Icon

Frühe 80er Jahre. Rückzug in die Tiefe der einsamen Proberäume und geistigen, im Laufe der Zeit auch digitalen, Welten. Drum-Computer, Bandmaschinen, Synthesizer, Gitarren, Stimmen. Vom Bassisten und Bandmusiker zum Projekt Mann. Jahrelanges ausprobieren, kreieren, Nächte um die Ohren schlagen, Schulden machen, an der Realisation der eigenen Träume arbeiten, besser werden.

Nach diversen Bandprojekten und der gemachten nicht befriedigenden Erfahrungen als Solo-Künstler unter dem Pseudonym «Tomes Beluga» wieder zurück auf Feld eins. Wieder alleine. Um nicht im Vordergrund stehen zu müssen, entstand Ende der 1980er Jahre die Idee zum reinen Studioprojekt mit dem Konzept, ihn berührende Stimmen aus der PopRock Musik in etwas anderem als deren üblichem musikalischen Umfeld zu präsentieren und in seine Musik zu integrieren, dies anfangs ganz ohne deren Namensnennung, da diese eine Erwartungshaltung auslösen und deshalb eine musikalische Einschränkung bedeuten könnte. Diese selbstkomponierte und -produzierte Musik war rein synthetischer Natur und kam anfangs ohne Gitarren aus. Überlegungen zu Marketing und Verkaufbarkeit gab es kaum, stand naiverweise die Musik und die Freude an der Zusammenarbeit mit grossartigen Musikern im Vordergrund.

Die erste dieser Stimmen gehört dem Engländer Rick Laine, dessen Stimme Manfred an den 1. Sänger einer seiner Lieblingsbands, «Deep Purple», erinnerte: Rod Evans. Damit war die Basis seines Langzeitprojektes «Manfred Ehlert’s Amen» gelegt.

Vocals: Rick Laine

All instruments & programming: Manfred Ehlert

All texts written by Rick Laine

Recorded by Heinz Reutlinger, Al Dente Studio

Mastering: Gary Jones

Layout Cover: Peter Frey

 

Persönliche Anmerkung:

Aus dieser Studiosession, die ich 1988 zusammen mit Heinz Reutlinger in dessen Studios, welches sich damals in einer alten Bauarbeiter Baracke befand, aufgenommen hatte, entstanden diese 5 Songs, die nun erstmals veröffentlicht werden. Aufgenommen wurde auf eine B-16 Fostex sMaschine, die erste bezahlbare Bandmaschine, die von Profis lange Zeit nicht ernstgenommen wurde. Ich hatte damals einen Atari 1040 Computer mit Diskettenlaufwerk, einen Roland D-50 Synthesizer, einen E-Max für die Bläser sowie ein Sequential Circuits Studio 440 (Sampler/Drummaschine).

Der Sänger Rick Laine, der auf den 5 Songs einen wirklich grossartigen Job gemacht hat, gestand mir erst am Ende der Aufnahmesessions, dass er zu jener Zeit Magenprobleme hatte. Sein Anspruch, meine klaren Vorstellungen vom Gesang perfekt umzusetzen sowie das Wissen, das die gebuchte Studiozeit bezahlt werden musste, machten dies möglich. Mein grosser Respekt vor dieser Leistung und seiner Disziplin! Er hat bei diversen Songs dieses Projekts auch textlich mitgearbeitet.

Um die Studiorechnung damals bezahlen zu können, musste ich mein damaliges Auto verkaufen. Deshalb dieses Cover als Erinnerung an die 80er. Den abgebildeten Autotyp Audi 100 musste ich bereits viele Jahre früher für eine neue Bassgitarre verkaufen.

  • Schwarz Spotify Icon
  • Schwarz Facebook Icon
  • Schwarz YouTube Icon

© 2020 Manfred Ehlert

  • Grey Spotify Icon
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon